Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Image

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children is the debut novel of author, Ransom Riggs. It’s about a certain boy, Jacob Portman, who goes through the journey of his life starting with the death of his grandfather which leads to him finding Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, finding Miss Peregrine and the Peculiar Children in it.

At first, this book comes off as this horror like book. Honestly speaking, that’s why I was attracted to it wherein I kept wondering why it was categorized as a children’s book. After reading the book, let me tell you that it’s not a horror book. The synopsis and the book cover is deceiving. This book is more like a fantasy novel with adventure and mystery.

Another thing that brings a person to be attracted to this book is the use of pictures, real pictures not pictures intentionally made for this book. The pictures are a critical part of this book as I think that the pictures are what attracted its readers to it.

This book was classified as a children’s book. If you read it, you will see why it’s a children’s book. It connects to children with its simplicity, also it’s not descriptive when it comes to emotions and tragic scenes so it does not lose the child with such big words that twist and twist. *Warning, though, the first part would contain teenage conversations -if you don’t get what I mean, I mean crude language

So that’s why I believe that this book is rather fast paced because it’s like this happened, boom, this happened, boom, this happened. This book failed to make me cry, though.

Despite those things that I have said, how the book’s cover and synopsis will make you think that the book’s genre is downright horror, thriller, whatever, how the pictures contribute to the book’s popularity, and how it failed to emotionally move me, I will not lie that I don’t regret buying the book and reading it because I honestly enjoyed it.

The book kept me interested. I literally could not let it go. I liked the pace, the magic and the mystery, the simplicity yet complexity of it. It’s an adventure and I’m waiting for the sequel.

My rating:

3.8/5

My final word on this:

This book brings you to a world that gives you a fictional answer about all the mythical creatures around us. It has mystery, romance, humor, adventure, and drama all together -sorry, no horror. However, this book has this Tim Burton feel to it because even if there’s no horror, there’s this eerie appeal to it that you can’t let go of the book. The pictures are creepy already, and if you analyzed the characters instead of getting yourself caught up with the book’s pace, you can see where the creepiness really comes from -the Peculiar Children.

The film rights to the book has already been sold and Tim Burton will direct the upcoming film. Seriously, don’t you think that’s a perfect match?